Our 20th Anniversary Write the Future Celebration

News —— May 27th, 2024

On May 8th, 2024 826NYC’s staff, board, and community of supporters gathered for our fifth annual Write the Future Celebration. We celebrated 826NYC’s young authors alongside our honorees Jon Scieszka and Ted Wolff. Teen Writers’ Collective members Zee Rosado and Mayra Fernández shared their writing with our community and spoke about their experiences as 826NYC students.

We are deeply grateful to Zee and Mayra for sharing their words with our community and for making the night so special. It was also a blast to have comedian Jordan Carlos and Recess Therapy creator Julian Shapiro-Barnum host our program, and want to extend massive thanks to them!

We’d like to thank our sponsors Nickelodeon, Polk Wealth Management, Brunswick Group, Buzz Education, Penguin Random House, Runner Music, Scholastic, BCW Global, Crowell & Moring, Nixon Peabody LLP, Reed Smith LLP, Paramount Pictures, Weinberg Zareh Malkin Price LLP, and WestExec Advisors for supporting the evening and the work of 826NYC’s young writers. We look forward to seeing everyone again for our next Write The Future gala in 2025!

Photo by Aslan Chalom.