Januaury Book Recommendations from the Brooklyn Public Library


January 4, 2019


This month Brooklyn Public LibrarianLisa Borten has brought together some great “Best Of” titles for young people that could be suitable for readers with a range of tastes and genre preferences. Students can read one, two or all of these recommended books or read even more by checking out the library’s free service, Bklyn BookMatch.

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

Fans of Leigh Bardugo’s novels and the Black Panther films will love Tomi Adeyemi’s West African-inspired fantasy debut, written for older teens. This epic novel, the first in a series, will leave readers hungry for more as they follow the tale of Zelie fighting the monarchy and saving magic for her kingdom.

Front Desk by Kelly Yang

In this middle-grade realistic fiction novel, Mia Tang is the front-desk worker at the motel that her immigrant parents own. She dreams of being a writer but is worried that her parents won’t approve of her literary aspirations. This heartwarming story of following your heart and learning to love your heritage is relatable on a number of levels.

Julian is a Mermaid by Jessica Love

In this imaginative picture book, Julian loves dressing up as a mermaid, just like the ladies he sees on the subway home from the pool. He is nervous, though, of what his abuela will think of how he sees himself. This gender-expansive picture book is great for trans kids and those who love them–or anyone who wants to celebrate their individuality.

 

Ahimsa by Supriya Kelkar

In this historical fiction middle grade debut, 10-year-old Anjali becomes involved firsthand in the Indian struggle for freedom as she watches her mother risk her life for her country. Her mother’s imprisonment and the use of ahimsa–non-violent resistance–are formative events in her young life and are based on the tale of the author’s own great-grandmother’s experience with Gandhi.

 

What if it’s Us? by Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera

YA power duo Albertalli and Silvera collaborated on this LGBT romance story featuring two boys who meet cute at a post office in NYC. They’re then separated after a flash mob takes over…but do they belong together? Find out in this tale perfect for fans of John Green and David Levithan.

*You can use AmazonSmile to purchase any of these books and 826NYC will get a percentage.*